Books

I write book club fiction about the relationships of career-focused women — the victories, the struggles, and everything in between. My female characters don’t necessarily end up with Prince Charming, but they always end up with a better version of themselves.

 
 
IngredientsFrontCover.jpg

THE INGREDIENTS OF US

A delicious novel about the sweet and sour ingredients of life and love.

Elle, an accomplished baker, has a recipe for every event in her life. But when she discovers her husband’s infidelity, she doesn’t know what to make of it. Jam, maybe? Definitely jam.

Fed up with the stale crumbs of her marriage, Elle revisits past recipes and the events that inspired them. A recipe for scones reminds her of her father’s death, cinnamon rolls signify the problematic courtship with her husband, and a batch of chocolate cookies casts Elle in a less-than-flattering light. Looking back, Elle soon realizes that some ingredients were missing all along.

After confronting her husband, Elle indulges her sweet tooth in other ways, including a rebound that just leaves her more confused. As secrets from the past collide with the conflicts of the present, Elle struggles to manage her bakery business and maintain the relationships most important to her. In piecing her life back together, will Elle learn to take the bitter with the sweet?

BUY
 
myles-tan-91630-unsplash.jpg

KEEP ME AFLOAT

After an unconventional affair and terrible tragedy tore apart Abby Fisher’s marriage, she ran away from her family, friends, and hometown to escape her grief. But running hasn’t helped, and after two years building a successful marine biology career, Abby is still haunted by her past.

When her research study unexpectedly ends, she finds herself returning home to the Olympic Peninsula to face the demons of her past head-on.

While she struggles to pick up the pieces of a shattered love life and professional false-start, three men promise to change her life forever: Dennis, the husband she shouldn’t have left; Eli, the exciting photographer who flipped her whole world upside down; and Zack, a friend with his own dark past, who sees Abby for who she really is.


rodolfo-sanches-carvalho-447999-unsplash.jpg

MORE BOOKS ARE IN THE WORKS

Future works include big love, horses, travel, heartbreak, redemption, and more.


Praise for THE INGREDIENTS OF US

Come for the story of a baker facing a crisis in her marriage. Stay for the recipes – lush, beautiful things, filled with life lessons. From that very first recipe for passive-aggressive blackberry jam, you know you’re in for something special.
— Erica Bauermeister, author of The School of Essential Ingredients
A delightful and delicious read, The Ingredients of Us delves into the fabric of marriage and what happens when some ingredients in the relationship are missing. Gold has crafted a smart storyline with memorable characters and mouth-watering recipes that are sure to appeal to fans of Jenny Colgan and Amy E. Reichert.
— Kerry Lonsdale, Amazon Charts and Wall Street Journal bestselling author
Take a marriage in crisis, add a heroine you can’t help but root for, and toss in an ending you won’t see coming: Voilà—you’ve got The Ingredients of Us. Jennifer Gold’s debut is deliciously fun.
— Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Woman Last Seen in Her Thirties
The Ingredients of Us is a delightfully original novel filled with love, regret, and recipes that are themselves like little short stories. You’ll want to cry for Elle as she navigates the breakup of her marriage and flashes back on the earlier, happier days. And then you want to follow her to her kitchen and feast on her buttery concoctions as she finds healing and strength.
— Maddie Dawson, Washington Post and Amazon Charts bestselling author of Matchmaking for Beginners and The Survivor’s Guide to Family Happiness
A mouthwatering tale that takes you inside a complicated marriage, raising questions about love, fidelity, family, and when career takes over. This book provides a unique take on a perennially interesting topic.
— Elyssa Friedland, author of The Intermission